French Film Friday: double feature — L’Auberge Espagnole et Les poupées russes

Yesterday I decided I wanted to do more than just listen passively to French music I wanted to listen to real conversations and monitor how well I can understand. The best way to do this is to watch / listen to French movies. preferably ones that I have already viewed before. I went onto Netflix and went through my previously viewed movies (streaming of course) and chose to watch (listen to, seeing as how I was at work) Russian Dolls (French title: Les poupées russes).

 

I watched Russian Dolls after my BF introduced me to The Spanish Apartment (French title: L’Auberge Espagnole), which is the first installment, about a year ago. I absolutely loved this movie and the fact that there was a sequel was pretty cool. It may not be obvious that these two movies are related…usually in America we are WAY creative with our Movie: Part 1, Movie: Part 2, titles..but the first, The Spanish Apartment,  follows the story of a group of college aged guys and girls during a year in Barcelona. Then, in the sequel, Russian Dolls, it shows the group 5 years later, meeting for a wedding that serves as their reunion, in Russia.

Not only are they both fantastic movies, it really does help to listen to the characters speak. It is fun to pick up on what I know and also, when I have no clue what they are saying I will open the window that the movie is playing, find in the subtitles the translation and voilà, I am learning vocabulary!

Without further delay, here are the trailers for both films, enjoy! Oh, and HAPPY FRIDAY!

One thought on “French Film Friday: double feature — L’Auberge Espagnole et Les poupées russes

  1. OMG I’m obsessed with both movies! My sister got them for me on blueray 3 years ago and I just love watching them over and over again. I saw l’auberge when I was studying at the ESC in clermont ferrand in 2004 and I related so much to it. Great pick!

Leave a Reply

