How are things?

Wow, I have neglected my blog and for that I am sorry. I really do think this is going to be such an excellent resource and community as I move abroad … I don’t want to lose you guys out there! Your readership and always supportive comments are so wonderful! Thank you!

So … How are things? I have 1 more day of relative freedom before classes begin again for this fall semester. bleh.

My life: Here are all of the places I went this summer:

  • Oxford, MS
  • Boston, MA
  • Rehoboth, MA
  • Philadelphia, PA
  • New York, NY
  • Paris, France
  • Marseille, France
  • Bordeaux, France
  • Enschede, Netherlands
  • Louisville, KY
  • Panama City, FL

That’s a lot. No wonder it feels like I haven’t been home! My summer has flown by and there have been a lot of changes. I chose my PhD committee here at Penn State and things are still in the works for my scientists visa for my research in Marseille later this year. The plan is that I should show up in Marseille sometime early November and return home (temporarily) at the end of May. I am looking for a place to live, which has been daunting … I need furnished, down to the sheets and towels and I would prefer my lease be Nov – May … no one does that of course, haha. I think I may have found a long term vacation rental that might work … fingers crossed!!!

What am I doing french-wise, in preparation?? Well, I technically finished French 3 this summer, through tutoring. I think the only thing I missed out on having not taken the class was the actual time learning vocab. I did a lot of grammar but didn’t learn many new words … therefore I know the mechanics but am searching for descriptors constantly. It is exhausting!

Last week my BF was in town and we spoke a lot of french together, it was nice. I found myself getting more comfortable with speaking, listening and asking questions. I have work to do though!! I am working on my conjugations since this is something I was forever searching for in conversations … trying to decide if it was the conditional or the future that had the i in it before the ending …

In other news, I just finished a fantastic book … for any francophile that has struggled to learn french, this book was excellent. It’s called French Lessons, by Alice Kaplan. It is her biography and I read it so quickly. She is such a wonderful writer that I found myself wishing I could meet her, plus, all the thoughts she was having about french and wanting to be perfect in the language and culture are feelings that I myself have soooo often. Check it out, you won’t regret it!

I am beginning the downsizing process with my life. I need to get rid of clothes, shoes and furniture plus all the other junk in my life so that I can pack for Marseille intelligently, this is hard for me. I don’t consider myself a hoarder, I just like my stuff. haha.

So that’s my update for now. I will keep you informed about the visa process… I am running out of time!! AHH! I have to drive 3.5 hours to Washington, DC to get it … during the week. Super inconvenient but it must be done. In the mean time I am writing my masters thesis which needs to be finished and defended before I leave…

I have 54 days until I drive my stuffs back to KY.

71ish days until I leave for Marseille! WOO!

2 thoughts on “How are things?

  1. I’m going to have to check that book out! And so exciting about leaving for Marseille so soon! As for improving your french vocab, I’m not sure if it would be too elementary for you or not, but have you heard of busuu.com? It’s free and super fun and easy to learn from – great learning resource/refresher! 🙂

Leave a Reply

