French, or foe? by Polly Platt

What an excellent book! French or Foe?

I have gotten into reading books about traveling and living in France to prepare myself for my journey. I realize nothing will prepare me for the cultural and language shock but hey, I can try to figure out the social etiquette and whatnot before I show up. It has everything ranging from etiquette at parties, meeting collegues, French education, French upbringing, etc. I am loving it!! Hope I can remember everything she mentions! Oh, and you’ll notice it is a bit outdated (1993, je pense) but honestly, these things transcend years seeing as how the French love their heritage, I am not worried about this stuff changing any time soon!

Find a copy on Amazon for like $0.01 and $3.99 shipping in the US. Can’t beat it! I promise you’ll enjoy it, especially if you have some experience with French people and the culture surrounding certain aspects discussed in this book! And even if you don’t, you’re sure to learn a lot!

Other purchases / reads: Pardon My French: Unleash Your Inner GaulHide This French BookMerde!: The Real French You Were Never Taught at School, etc for help with Slang! and Cultural misunderstandings : the French-American experience (a book which French or Foe? references a few times.

happy reading!

á bientôt!

Leave a Reply

