That sure is a GREAT lake + Niagara Falls

Being in State college for only a short period of time didn’t leave much room for travel within the new englandy area. I tried to force myself to squash the travel bug and sit still for a few months while I enjoyed somewhat being a traveller in my once home-like city. There was plenty to keep me busy, reading numerous papers dealing with my musical acoustics research, meetings with advisors. Catching up on doctors appointments and what not. But there was one trip idea a friend came up with that I couldn’t say no to … Niagara falls.

Niagara Falls, NY was a short 3.5 hour drive from Penn State and yet, I had never been.  All it took was an aggrement from a friend that he would drvie and two days later, we were off. Our Airbnb booked (a private room in a young couple’s Buffalo, NY duplex) and gas in the car we drove out of SC very early after a night of partying for me and arrived in Buffalo before lunch. After meeting out very nice hosts we drove on into Niagara … I want this post to mainly be pictures so that’s where we’ll go:

Afterwards we weren’t sure what to do. We were willing to take the Maid of the Mist boat later the next day before we went back home since the weather was looking better the following day. So … we found a beach, after me purchasing a bathing suit and swam for a few minutes and enjoyed the sunset in Buffalo.

Of course a big part of any travel for me is food. We had plenty! Again, shown in pictures:

We had wings ++ at the Anchor Bar , a wonderful array of foods including duck fat French fries! At BlueMonk and a great lunch before we left and good beers at the Pearl Street Brewery.

So, just before heading home we went on the Maid of the Mist boat ride and wow! Good job Mother Nature, you really out did your self with the falls! 😀

Great day trip! Super duper recommended! The great lakes are truely GREAT! I mean stinkin HUGE! I was in Awe for a long while staring out into the never ending “lake”. The city wasn’t too expensive but I was surprised by how unamazing the area surrounding Niagara Falls was … do yourself a favor and stay in Buffalo or another surrounding area and just drive into the Falls. It was nice to be able to get away from the somewhat run down area you drive through on the NY side of the Falls. I can’t recommend one side or the other (NY side vs. Canadian side) since we didn’t venture into Canada. But either way. … a site to be seen!

Leave a Reply

