My French Thanksgiving and USA Travels

I know it’s been a long time! This post begins my attempt to catch up…

 

My French thanksgiving was wonderful ! This year, amidst the hustle and bustle I was able to travel to Antibes and share this wonderful American tradition and holiday with my French friends! I spent the entire day cooking, thanks in large part to a giant Thanksgiving ingredient package from my parents ! (contents containing ingredients such as: pumpkin pie filling, stove top stuffing, cranberry sauce, mini marshmallows, etc). I cooked a giant turkey (well an 11 lb one), stuffing, cranberry sauce, green beans, mashed potatoes and gravy, sweet potato casserole, deviled eggs, corn bread, and for dessert: chocolate cheese cake brownies, orange jello, pumpkin pie! And to finish… a Kentucky bourbon tasting. It was a great night !! Spending this typically family holiday with friends made it so nice!

I got back into the USA just after thanksgiving and went to San Francisco for another Acoustical Society of America. I flew straight from Marseille – Amsterdam – San Francisco (my first ever 11.5 hour flight!).

 

I got to spend time with a few college buddies who live all the way over there ! That was cool to reminisce ! I got 2 good 6 mile runs in on the embarcadero — stopped a bit to see the sea lions at pier 39. Had some great clam chowder, grilled cheese and oysters at Hog Island Oyster Company and used the heck out of a cool rideshare app Lyft.

I also got to see many Penn State buddies in for the conference which was excellent! That’s one great part about conference, it’s like mini-reunions every 6 months or so with the Acoustical Society of America! I love it! Despite the crazy busy and somewhat stressful conference, I had a great time and really like San Francisco. I will be happy to return in the future!

 

see ya soon!

Leave a Reply

